Skip to main content

Currently Skimming:

About the Committee on Human Rights
Pages 5-8

The Chapter Skim interface presents what we've algorithmically identified as the most significant single chunk of text within every page in the chapter.
Select key terms on the right to highlight them within pages of the chapter.

From page 5...
... Our Mission The CHR promotes engagement with internationally recognized human rights norms to help shape effective, sustainable, and just responses to societal challenges. It advocates, and marshals support, for members of the research, technological, and healthcare communities who come under threat as a result of repression and discrimination.
From page 6...
... Columbia University University of Michigan Chris Beyrer John Hildebrand Duke University NAS International Secretary John Carlson Andrea Liu Yale University University of Pennsylvania Giselle Corbie Douglas Massey University of North Carolina School of Princeton University Medicine Jonathan Moreno* Carlos del Rio University of Pennsylvania NAM International Secretary Deb Niemeier Vanessa Northington Gamble University of Maryland The George Washington University James M
From page 7...
... The IHRN was founded in 1993 to alert national academies to human rights abuses involving fellow scientists and scholars and to equip academies with the tools to provide support in such cases. Today the IHRN advocates in support of professional colleagues suffering human rights abuses; promotes the free exchange of ideas and opinions among scientists and scholars; and supports the independence and autonomy of national academies and scholarly societies worldwide.

This material may be derived from roughly machine-read images, and so is provided only to facilitate research.
More information on Chapter Skim is available.